Distinguished Prof. Datuk Dr. Looi Lai Meng University of Malaya Malaysia

Distinguished Prof. Datuk Dr. Looi Lai Meng
Academician Datuk Professor Ulung Dr Looi Lai Meng is Malaysia’s inaugural National Distinguished Professor, and senior consultant histopathologist on the University Malaya Medical Centre (UMMC). She studied medicine at the University of Singapore, trained in Anatomical Pathology at UM, Royal Postgraduate Medical School (UK) and Brigham and Woman’s Hospital, (USA) and defended her research doctorate at UM. During her long academic career at UM she has served as Deputy-Dean (postgraduate), representative to the Malaysian Medical Council and chaired UMMC’s Medical Advisory Committee. She currently chairs the UMMC-Medical Research Ethics Committee/ Institutional Review Board. Her practice and research interests are in amyloidosis, nephropathology, oncopathology, global pathology and innovations in pathology. Professor Looi is the Founding President of the Malaysian College of Pathologists, and was instrumental in establishing pathology laboratory accreditation in Malaysia and the Pathology Act. She is a Founding Fellow and Senior Fellow (Academician) of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM). She co-chaired the InterAcademy Medical Panel (now the InterAcademy Partnership for Health) for two elected terms (2010-2016) during which this global network of National Sciences and Medical Academies extended initiatives into global health, the social determinants of health, urban health, and young physician leadership capacity-building. She chaired the ASM Newton-Ungku Omar Fund Committee for Bilateral Research Programmes with the MRC, UK. (2015-2018) and the 2019 MRC-Malaysia Joint Panel on Non-Communicable Diseases. Currently, she serves on the MRC Applied Global Health Research Board, the Lancet Commission on Diagnostics and as Regional Advisor for the Western Pacific to the Royal College of Pathologists (UK). She also chairs the National Postgraduate Pathology Curriculum Writing Group and MMC’s Specialty Education Subcommittee for Anatomical Pathology. Accolades for her contributions include the CPath-AMM Lifetime Achievement Award, WASPaLM gold headed cane, ASEAN Outstanding Scientist Award, the Merdeka Award 2016 (Health, Science and Technology category) and Honorary Professor of the Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences-Peking Union Medical College.